Sri Lanka e-Visa Eligibility

Starting from August 2015, e-Visa is required for travelers visiting Sri Lanka for business, transit or tourism visits under six months.

e-Visa is a new entry requirement for foreign nationals with visa exempt status who are planning to travel to Sri Lanka by air. The authorization is linked electronically to your passport and is valid for a period of five years.

Applicants of the eligible countries must apply online minimum 3 days in advance of the date of arrival.

Find out your eligibility for Sri Lanka e-Visa using Eligiblity Checker tool.

Citizens of the following countries are eligible to apply for an e-Visa Sri Lanka:

Citizens of Singapore, Maldives and Seychelles are exempt from Sri Lanka e-Visa and need only their Passports to travel to Sri Lanka.
Citizens of Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Hong Kong, Kosovo, Nigeria, North Korea, Taiwan and Syria need prior approval before applying for Sri Lanka e-Visa. Apply for an e-Visa at Sri Lanka Overseas Missions or at the Head office of the Department of Immigration & Emigration, Colombo through Sri Lankan Sponsors. Failing to do so may cause for rejection of your ETA/Visa appeals.

Please apply for a e-Visa Sri Lanka 72 hours in advance of your flight.